Fleeting Reflections On A Life In A Day

One of the many excellent events I managed to enjoy during Future Everything 2011 was a screening of the “Youtube Movie” – Life in a Day.

Overall I was very impressed with this movie. It is a touch sentimental in parts and those segments knock you over the head in a manner in which you have little say. A victory for heartstring tugging most of the time but it veers towards the maudlin at other moments.

It’s the rough hewn elements of the movie, the understated moments and the instances of personal documentary which YouTube as a platform has completely accustomed us to which provide the most powerful moments of the movie in my opinion. I won’t spoil any of them (save to say that the elevator tour was one of my favourites) here but I’d urge you to check it out when it comes out in July.

And my favourite moment is the blessing of a home personal computer in accordance with ritual practice (pictured above is the lady who does the blessing). I am not certain which country this vignette hailed from so if anyone can enlighten me then I’d appreciate it! Always interested to see the intersection of the digital and belief.

~ by Stephen Fortune on May 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
